Impurities in steel

Manganese, silicon, sulfur, phosphorus and others

Most common grade steels ("Common" or "common" steels) contain fairly high amounts of manganese, which remains from the deoxidation process. Impurities, such as silicon, sulfur and phosphorus, also almost always present in finished steel. The influence of these impurities on mechanical properties depends mainly on the fact, how these impurities are distributed in the steel structure. If an impurity is present in the structure in the form of a strong liquation, then it has a much more harmful effect, than, if this impurity was evenly distributed over the structure. Excessive segregation concentrates impurity at grain boundaries, which in this case often looks like a very fragile intergranular film.

Between liquidus and solidus

The degree of manifestation of liquation of a given impurity element depends on the distance between the solidus and liquidus lines on the corresponding equilibrium diagram (picture 1):

  • In the equilibrium diagram of Figure 1a, the relative content of the impurity element (sulfur or phosphorus) in solid (S) and liquid (L) glands are very far from each other at any temperature. This can lead to severe liquation.. When a relatively pure metal solidifies, the bulk of the impurity element will concentrate there, where the metal is the last to solidify - at the grain boundaries.
  • In the equilibrium diagram of Figure 1b, the content of the impurity element (silicon or manganese) in liquid (L) and solid (S) the glands remain close to each other throughout the hardening time. This gives a relatively uniform distribution of this impurity element over the microstructure and the absence of a dangerous concentration of brittle impurities at the grain boundaries..

Picture 1 - Equilibrium diagrams:
a - iron - (sulfur or phosphorus)
b - iron - (silicon or manganese)

Liquidation, associated with impurity elements

There is never a strong segregation in solid steel., associated with silicon and manganese. Since these elements have high solubility in solid solution of steel, then they can hardly be found in the form of separate components of the microstructure. Therefore, in a solid solution with an amount of up to 0,3 % their direct impact is minimal.

On the other hand, sulfur and phosphorus give significant segregation and, if they are present in large numbers, then they can precipitate during solidification in the form of corresponding compounds with iron at the boundaries of austenite grains. This phenomenon is aggravated by the relatively low solubility of these elements in steel..

Main impurities in steel

Manganese

Manganese is not only soluble in austenite and ferrite, but also forms stable Mn carbide3C. It is known from practice, that manganese increases the depth of hardening of steel. It also increases the strength and toughness of steel. In high-carbon steels, the manganese content should not exceed 0,3 % due to the tendency to form hardening cracks, especially when water quenched.

Silicon

Silicon increases the fluidity of steels, which are intended for the manufacture of castings. In such steels, it is present in an amount up to 0,3 %. In high carbon steels, the silicon content must be kept low, so it reduces the stability of cementite and promotes its decomposition into graphite (as discharge) and ferrite.

Sulfur

Sulfur is the most harmful impurity commonly found in steel.. If you do not take measures to convert sulfur into harmless forms, it tends to form brittle FeS sulfide. Sulfur is completely soluble in molten steel, but when solidified, its solubility drops to 0,03 %. In addition to the phenomenon of liquation, which was described above, need to take into account, that even with such a low sulfur content as 0,01 %, it can cause sulfide precipitation along grain boundaries. In this case, the austenite grains become literally enveloped in brittle films of iron sulfide (II). Since this sulfide has a rather low melting point, then during hot plastic processing, steel can literally crumble. At ambient temperature, iron sulfide (II) is fragile, what makes the steel unsuitable for cold plastic working or generally unsuitable for any subsequent service in service.

In most steels, it would be very difficult and very expensive to reduce the sulfur content to less than, than 0,05 %. At present, to eliminate the effect of sulfur in steel, an excess content of manganese is introduced into it during deoxidation.. When adding manganese in an amount of about five times more, what is required theoretically sulfur forms manganese sulfide MnS instead of iron sulfide (II). The resulting manganese sulfide is insoluble in molten steel and part of it goes into the slag. The rest of the manganese sulfide looks like rather large globules, which are distributed over steel. Since they are insoluble, then when the steel solidifies, they do not participate in the formation of its structure. Besides, manganese sulfide at the forging temperature is ductile and therefore the embrittlement tendency of steel is eliminated. In subsequent rolling operations, the manganese sulfide globules elongate into fibers (Figures 2a and 2b).

Picture 2 - Segregation of impurities in steel:
a - Segregation of iron sulfide (FeS) along grain boundaries in steel. ×750
b - Formation of isolated globules of manganese sulfide (MnS),
when manganese is present in the steel
c - Light stripes (ghost bands) or areas without pearlite,
which indicate the presence of phosphorus in steel

Phosphorus

Phosphorus is soluble in solid steel up to almost 1 %. When this amount is exceeded, brittle phosphide Fe is released3P. In solid solution, phosphorus has a significant strengthening effect on steel. However, this should be tightly controlled to contain about 0,05 % or less due to the risk of steel embrittlement, special, if Fe sulfide3P is present in the structure as a separate component.

In rolled or forged steel, light streaks indicate phosphorus («ghost bands») (Figure 2c). These sites (which got an elongated shape during rolling) do not contain perlite, and instead have a high concentration of phosphorus. The presence of phosphorus and the absence of pearlite reduce the strength of these areas., special, if they also contain other impurities.

Nitrogen

Atmospheric nitrogen is absorbed by molten steel during the manufacturing process. It doesn't matter, whether this nitrogen will combine with iron in the form of nitrides or will it remain dissolved in the atomic lattice of iron after solidification (picture 3) - it causes strong embrittlement and makes the steel unsuitable for intensive cold plastic working. For this reason, low carbon steel (mild steel) for deep landing (deep-drawing) must have a low nitrogen content.

Due to the nature of the smelting method, Thomas steel (Thomas steel) and has a nitrogen content up to 0,02 %, what, usually, leads to the presence of fragile F4N (picture 3). That's more than four times that, than the average nitrogen content in steel, obtained by the open-hearth method, which is suitable for cold heading operations. Naturally, that with the use of modern "oxygen" technologies it is possible to obtain low-carbon steel with a very low nitrogen content (below 0,002 %), since in oxygen, which blows the melt with very little or no nitrogen. This steel is ideal for cold heading. However, it is very difficult to prevent the melt from absorbing some atmospheric nitrogen., so during ladle casting molten steel is in contact with the atmosphere.

Picture 3 - Part of the iron-nitrogen equilibrium diagram

Hydrogen

Hydrogen ions dissolve in between the nodes of the atomic lattice in the solid solution of steel and therefore they are able to migrate inside the metal, which leads to embrittlement and loss of ductility. This hydrogen can dissolve during steelmaking, but more likely to get into steel during welding - from moisture, which is in the flux mixture (covering) electrodes. Another source is the release of hydrogen on the surface of electrolytic coating. Surface corrosion also produces hydrogen, which can be absorbed by steel.

The presence of hydrogen in steels can lead to the so-called "delayed fracture" – destruction under static load, which has been going on for some time. Such destruction can occur after several hours at a voltage of no more than 50 % from the yield point 0,2 %. The manifestation of this type of destruction is very dependent on the rate of deformation.. So, plasticity indicators, which are obtained in tensile test (slow loading), are significantly reduced, and the impact test results remain virtually unchanged.

Is considered, that the mechanism of hydrogen embrittlement of steels is associated with the movement of hydrogen ions between the sites of the atomic lattice to atomic lattice defects, as well as in areas with high triaxial stresses. These accumulations of hydrogen ions cause crack initiation and subsequent premature failure.. This explains why, why destruction more often occurs after some time, which is required for hydrogen ions to accumulate on atomic lattice defects. Most of the dissolved hydrogen can be dispersed during low-temperature (200 ºS) annealing in a dehydrated atmosphere.

Source:

Engineering Metallurgy – Part I – Applied Physical Metallurgy / R. A. Higgins – 6th ed. – 1999

Примеси в стали

Марганец, кремний, сера, фосфор и другие

Большинство сталей обыкновенного качества («обыкновенные» или «обычные» стали) содержат довольно высокие количества марганца, который остается от процесса раскисления. Примеси, такие как кремний, сера и фосфор, также практически всегда присутствуют в готовой стали. Влияние этих примесей на механические свойства зависит в основном от того, как эти примеси распределены в структуре стали. Если примесь присутствует в структуре в виде сильной ликвации, то она оказывает значительно более вредное влияние, чем, если бы эта примесь была распределена по структуре равномерно. Чрезмерная ликвация концентрирует примесь на границах зерен, которая в этом случае часто имеет вид очень хрупкой межзеренной пленки.

Между ликвидусом и солидусом

Степень проявления ликвация данного примесного элемента зависит от расстояния между линиями солидус и ликвидус на соответствующей диаграмме равновесия (рисунок 1):

  • На диаграмме равновесия рисунка 1а относительное содержание примесного элемента (серы или фосфора) в твердом (S) и жидком (L) железе находятся очень далеко друг от друга при любой температуре. Это может приводить к сильной ликвации. При затвердевании относительно чистого металла основная масса примесного элемента будет концентрироваться там, где металл затвердевает последним – на границах зерен.
  • На диаграмме равновесия рисунка 1б содержание примесного элемента (кремния или марганца) в жидком (L) и твердом (S) железе остаются близкими друг к другу в течение всего времени затвердевания. Это дает относительно равномерное распределение этого примесного элемента по микроструктуре и отсутствие опасной концентрации хрупкой примеси на границах зерен.

Рисунок 1 – Диаграммы равновесия:
а – железо – (сера или фосфор)
б – железо – (кремний или марганец)

Ликвация, связанная с примесными элементами

В стали в твердом состоянии никогда не бывает сильной ликвации, связанной с кремнием и марганцем. Поскольку эти элементы имеют высокую растворимость в твердом растворе стали, то их вряд ли можно встретить в виде отдельных составляющих микроструктуры. Поэтому в твердом растворе при количестве до 0,3 % их прямое влияние является минимальным.

С другой стороны, сера и фосфор дают значительную сегрегацию и, если они присутсвуют в большом количестве, то могут выделяться при затвердевании в виде соответствующих соединений с железом на границах аустенитных зерен. Это явление усугубляется относительно низкой растворимостью этих элементов в стали.

Основные примеси в стали

Марганец

Марганец не только является растворимым в аустените и феррите, но также образует стабильный карбид Mn3C. Из практики известно, что марганец увеличивает глубину упрочнения стали. Он также повышает прочность и вязкость стали. В высокоуглеродистых сталях содержание марганца не должно превышать 0,3 % из-за склонности к образованию закалочных трещин, особенно при закалке водой.

Кремний

Кремний повышает текучесть сталей, которые предназначены для изготовления отливок. В таких сталях он присутствует в количестве до 0,3 %. В высокоуглеродистых сталях содержание кремния нужно держать низким, так он снижает стабильность цементита и способствует его распаду на графит (в виде выделений) и феррит.

Сера

Сера является наиболее вредной примесью из примесей обычно присутствующих в стали. Если не принимать меры по переводу серы  в безвредные формы, она склонна образовывать хрупкий сульфид FeS. Сера является полностью растворимой в расплавленной стали, но при затвердевании ее растворимость падает до 0,03 %. Кроме явления ликвации, которое было описано выше, необходимо принимать во внимание, что даже при таком низком содержании серы как 0,01 %, она может вызывать выделения сульфидов по границам зерен. В этом случае зерна аустенита становятся буквально окутанными в хрупкие пленки сульфида железа (II). Поскольку этот сульфид имеет довольно низкую температуру плавления, то  во время горячей пластической обработки сталь может буквально крошиться. При обычной температуре сульфид железа (II) является хрупким, что делает сталь непригодной для холодной пластической обработки или вообще непригодной для какой-либо последующей службы в эксплуатации.

В большинстве сталей было бы очень трудно и очень дорого снижать содержание серы до содержания менее, чем 0,05 %. В настоящее время для сведения на нет влияния серы в стали в нее при раскислении вводят избыточное содержание марганца. При добавлении марганца в количестве примерно в пять раз больше, чем требуется теоретически сера образует сульфид марганца MnS вместо сульфида железа (II). Образующийся сульфид марганца является нерастворимым в расплавленной стали и часть его уходит в шлак. Остальная часть сульфида марганца имеет вид довольно больших глобулей, которые распределяются по стали. Поскольку они являются нерастворимыми, то при затвердевании стали не участвуют в формировании ее структуры. Кроме того, сульфид марганца при температуре ковки является пластичным и поэтому склонность стали к охрупчиванию устраняется. При последующих операциях прокатки глобули сульфида марганца удлинняются в волокна (рисунки 2а и 2б).

Рисунок 2 – Сегрегация примесей в стали:
а – Сегрегация сульфида железа (FeS) по границам зерен в стали. ×750
б – Образование изолированных глобулей сульфида марганца (MnS),
когда в стали присутствует марганец
в – Светлые полосы (ghost bands) или области без перлита,
которые указывают на присутствие в стали фосфора

Фосфор

Фосфор является растворимым в твердой стали при содержании до почти 1 %. При превышении этого количества выделяется хрупкий фосфид Fe3P. В твердом растворе фосфор имеет значительное упрочняющее влияние на сталь. Однако это должно жестко контролироваться до содержания около 0,05 % или менее из-за опасности охрупчивания стали, особенно,  если сульфид Fe3P присутствует в структуре в виде отдельного компонента.

В катаной или кованой стали на присутствие фосфора указывают светлые полосы («ghost bands») (рисунок 2в). Эти участки (которые получили вытянутую форму в ходе прокатки) не содержат перлита, а вместо него имеют высокую концентрацию фосфора. Присутствие фосфора и отсутствие перлита снижают прочность этих участков, особенно, если в них находятся также другие примеси.

Азот

Атмосферный азот поглощается расплавленной сталью во время производственного процесса. Не важно, будет ли этот азот соединяться с железом в форме нитридов или останется растворенным в атомной решетке железа после затвердевания (рисунок 3) – он вызывает сильное охрупчивание и делает сталь непригодной для интенсивной холодной пластической обработки. По этой причине низкоуглеродистая сталь (mild steel) для глубокой высадки (deep-drawing) должна иметь низкой содержание азота.

Из-за особенностей метода выплавки томасовская сталь (Thomas steel) и имеет содержание азота до 0,02 %, что, как правило, ведет к присутствию в ее структуре хрупких F4N (рисунок 3). Это более чем в четыре раза больше, чем среднее содержание азота в стали, полученной мартеновским способом, которая подходит для операций с холодной высадкой. Естественно, что с применением современных «кислородных» технологий можно получать низкоуглеродистую сталь с очень низким содержанием азота (ниже 0,002 %), так как в кислороде, которым продувают расплав очень мало или вообще нет азота. Такая сталь является идеальной для холодной высадки. Однако очень трудно предотвратить поглощение расплавом некоторого количество атмосферного азота, так во время разливки из ковша расплавленная сталь контактирует с атмосферой.

Рисунок 3 – Часть диаграммы равновесия «железо-азот»

Водород

Ионы водорода растворяются в между узлами атомной решетки в твердом растворе стали и поэтому они способны мигрировать внутри металла, что приводит к охрупчиванию и потере пластичности. Этот водород может растворяться в ходе производства стали, но более вероятно попадает в сталь при сварке – из влаги, которая находится в флюсовой обмазке (покрытии) электродов. Другой источник – выделение водорода на поверхности нанесении электролитическом покрытий. При поверхностной коррозии также выделяется водород, который может поглощаться сталью.

Присутствие водорода в сталях может приводить к так называемому «отложенному разрушению» – разрушению под статической нагрузкой, которое происходит в течение некоторого времени. Такое разрушение может происходить после нескольких часов при напряжении не более чем 50 % от предела текучести 0,2 %. Проявление такого вида разрушения очень зависит от скорости деформации. Так, показатели пластичности, которые получают при испытании на растяжение (медленное нагружение), существенно снижаются, а результаты ударных испытаний остаются практически без изменений.

Считается, что механизм водородного охрупчивания сталей связан с движением водородных ионов между узлами атомной решетки к дефектам атомной решетки, а также в области с высокими трехосными напряжениями. Эти скопления ионов водорода вызывают зарождение трещин и последующее преждевременное разрушение. Это объясняет то, почему разрушения чаще происходят по истечении некоторого времени, которое требуется ионам водорода для накапления на дефектах атомной решетки. Большая часть растворенного водорода может быть рассредоточена в ходе низкотемпературного (200 ºС) отжига в обезводороженной атмосфере.

Источник:

Engineering Metallurgy – Part I – Applied Physical Metallurgy / R. A. Higgins – 6th ed. – 1999